Jason Bakery


Jason Bakery can be found on my favourite street in Cape Town, Bree Street. After hearing about the restaurant and looking at the website, with it’s don’t-give-a-damn atttitude, I had to visit it. The mouth-watering photos that were posted sold any hesitation.

The restaurant can accommodate a number of people, both inside and outside, with the outside seating providing a view of Lion’s Head and the Bo-Kaap. So if it’s a sunny day, grab a table outside. And don’t be disturbed by the downhill on the one side, you won’t tumble down the road 😀 .

IMG_5779 IMG_5778

The menu has something for everyone with: pastries; savoury; all-day breakfasts; and sandwiches. Looking at the menu, I had to try was the Rebel Inside. A cheese and bacon muffin with a medium boiled egg in the middle. It was interesting to look at and I was sad to dig in. While the visual representation of the muffin was intriguing, it was a muffin at the end of the day. Something that hit me the second I bit into it. The egg provides some wetness to the muffin, and it is a delicious muffin, but I think I was expecting something else. Anyway, it’s a good quick breakfast packed with everything, if you’re hungry (it’s a big muffin).

IMG_5781IMG_5783

Next was the scrambled eggs with roasted rosa tomatoes and wild rocket. This was ordered with sourdough and chorizo. All the ingredients worked well together as the chorizo provided saltiness and spiciness to the dish. The tomatoes added sweetness and the rocket added more depth. For such a simple dish, it was delightful.

IMG_5780

However, my favourite was the breakfast pizza <3. Yes, it gets a heart because I loved every single bite. I finished that pizza on my own – my friend managed to get a small piece 😛 . On the pizza base is Shakshuka (my new favourite dish), chorizo, medium fried eggs, and buffalo mozzarella. Are you getting an idea of how decadent this pizza was, haha? The Shakshuka was divine, with a hint of spice, which was heightened by the spiciness of the chorizo (so you don’t need Tabasco for this dish. Trust me. Learn your lesson from me :-P). The mozzarella added creaminess to the pizza. It was fantastic. I still daydream about that pizza.  see-no-evil-monkey

IMG_5784

Jason Bakery is a great place for breakfast, brunch or a quick lunch. The food is delicious and interesting. I’m lucky I don’t work near Bree Street, else I’d be there almost everyday. The service is also great and the vibe is chilled. The perfect way to spend your Saturday morning.

IMG_5791

I give Jason Bakery 3 cupcakes out of 5.

Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Review guide:

Poor               Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Fair                Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Good             Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Very Good    Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Excellent        Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Extraordinary Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour

Leave a Reply

