Lenin’s Vodka Bar


Lenin’s Vodka Bar… That’s all I read and I knew we were going to have drinks there. How could you not?

The bar is located next to James XIV, in Maboneng Precinct. So I didn’t have to walk far 😜.

Walking into Lenin’s Vodka Bar is like walking into another world. You leave the bright sunlight and enter a dimly lit room. A room that includes a DJ booth and storeroom in the one corner and a bar in another. And just as Lenin would’ve preferred, there’s sickles and hammers all over the walls. I love it! Who needs to visit Mother Russia when it’s right in your backyard πŸ˜‚.

As soon as we sat down, a bartender brought us menus. The drinks have the greatest names: the Kremlin, Red Star, Chernobyl, and the Vlad.

The Kremlin is green, as it should be, and was balanced well. It had a great citric taste. I think I could’ve drunk more if it!

The Kremlin

The Red Star was a bit harsher. The grenadine was a bit overpowering.

The Red Star

But the best was the Leningrad. The lemon neutralized the alcohol and you couldn’t taste the vodka, gin, Barcadi or triple sec. It was just lemon wonder.

The Leningrad

I really enjoyed the bar. I only wish it was closer to Pretoria. But I guess it would lose its charm then.

One thought on “Lenin’s Vodka Bar”

Leave a Reply

