Culture Club


I’ve been craving a place where you can relax and feel transported away in Pretoria. And the Culture Club in Pretoria is exactly that.

I arrived a few minutes early, before my friend, and as I was sitting there I couldn’t help feel a nostalgic feeling on have sundowners on the Camps Bay Promenade in Cape Town. Sitting in the Culture Club’s comfy chairs, with the tropical house playing the background, I couldn’t help but feel transported to Cape Town. I had to wake myself up and remind myself that I was not at the beach but in Pretoria East.

I was initially seated at a table for 2 but I felt that the table was quite small. It is a tapas bar so I was planning on ordering a number of tapas. So I moved tables, which my waiter kindly agreed on, even though many of the tables were reserved. Note: Always make a booking for Friday and Saturday nights at the Culture Club. It gets packed.

While waiting, I ordered a Pimms Cup. The bartender was not shy with the Pimms and within a few sips, I was relaxed. When my friend finally arrived, we ordered the meat and cheese board and churros. It’s an odd combination I know, but CHURROS.

The meat and cheese board came with beef carpaccio, pastrami, olives, gherkins, white cheddar cheese, peppers, and a spicy tomato sauce. The meat was fresh and the cheese was aged well. It’s the perfect platter for 2 people to share. And it’s filling!

The churros were unfortunately not the best. They were a bit oily as you bite in but the chocolate was delicious.

While I didn’t try a lot of the tapas, as planned, I was happy with the platter. The service at the Culture Club is also great! We were constantly checked on our waiter, and when he’s shift ended, we had fantastic service with the next waiter. As mentioned before, the ambiance is also fantastic. It’s chilled and comfortable. The perfect place for after work drinks on a Friday.

I give the Culture Club 2 cupcakes. I haven’t had such great service in a long time in Pretoria:

Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Review guide:

Poor                    Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Fair                      Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Good                    Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Very Good          Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Excellent            Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Extraordinary    Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour

Leave a Reply

