So Whipped


I recently saw an article from Eat Out about a waffle made from a combination of waffle and doughnut dough in Durban. As I was in the area this weekend, I thought I’d take a trip to Gateway to try it out.

The waffle/doughnut combination is available from So Whipped and is situated where all near the Food Court. The store is a round bar surrounded by plenty of seating.

At the counter a friendly face awaited me. And then I proceeded to explain what I wanted. The lady, being completely confused, thought I was looking for a cronut. I had to show her the article, to which she replied: “Oh, you mean a woah-nut”. And she went off the get me one. Next time I’ll make sure I read the article :-P.

The woah-nut was delicious. It tasted like a sugar and cinnamon doughnut but at the lightness of a waffle. I loved it. The woah-nut was also served with vanilla ice cream, that added creaminess, and caramel sauce.

 

I also picked up a cookies and cream cronut (there’s 2 other flavors as well: apple and Bar One). This was also delicious and very light although it was a mission cutting through the 2 layers of dough. And it can get quite messy 🙈.

From left: Apple, Cookies & Cream, and Bar One

And then for the Banting bunch, I picked up some chocolate bombs, which were tasty but very dense.


The staff at So Whipped are friendly and patient. And the area is lovely, if it’s quiet. I can only imagine how crazy it is during peak periods.

I give So Whipped 2 cupcakes. And you have to try the woah-nut.

Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour  Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Review guide:

Poor                    Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Fair                      Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Good                    Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Very Good          Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Excellent            Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector

Extraordinary    Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour Cupcake-Outline-Vector colour

Leave a Reply

